is marathi compulsory in Maharashtra schools?

Bill for make Marathi language a compulsory subject in all schools across Maharashtra has now passed .On Wednesday 26 Feb 2020 this law has been passed in Maharashtra state legislative council.


Shiv Sena leader and Cabinet Minister for Marathi Language Subhash Desai announced that this Bill focus to make the Marathi language compulsory for class 1 to class 10 in all schools. This bill is applicable from the academic year 2020-2021.

However Desai had earlier said that there are around 25,000 schools in Maharashtra that do not teach Marathi subject or keep it as an optional subject. But Once the bill will passed, it will be mandatory for all schools to teach the language and make it a part of their curriculum.

Important highlight is that person responsible for the management of school affairs violating provisions of this act or bill shall be liable to pay a penalty of up to Rs 1 Lakh. Marathi teaching and assessment of students in Marathi will be a mandatory condition for all granting the government’s no-objection certificate for schools.

The law came on “Marathi Rajbhasha Din” (Marathi language day). This day celebrates on February 27, the birth anniversary of great poet and Jnanpith award winner late V V Shirwadkar.

BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis Reaction

” If someone comes to Maharashtra from outside, it does not mean he or she should not learn Marathi “. Former chief minister and BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis said.

“The bill has been approved in the Legislative Council for compulsory teaching of Marathi language in Class I to XII as well as in all board schools. The bill will be approve in the Legislative Assembly today with the unanimity of all members and dignitaries.”. Deputy Chief Minister, Maharashtra and Member of Legislative Assembly Ajit Pawar tweeted.

At present, Marathi is a compulsory subject only up to class 8th in schools run by the CBSE (Central Board of Secondary Education) , CISCE (Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations) and ICSE (Indian Certificate of Secondary Education) examination. But now this law will be applicable to all boards like CBSE, CISCE, IB, IGSCE, NIOS etc.